We've moved!
Host4Post has shifted over to an SSD VPS, to speed up your site. If you're seeing this message, then you're seeing the new server on any domain that is pointed to our nameservers.


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Your computer security?
Author Message
subodh Offline
Registered

Member
85
Posts:
Feb 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #81
Your computer security?

I am using Mcafee. It's best and easy to use.
12-04-2011 03:58 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
s2nds21 Offline
Registered

Junior Member
20
Posts:
Dec 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #82
Your computer security?

I think the virus make my hdd run slow, but the antivirus program use much ram. So i didn't use antivirus soft
12-20-2011 09:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Geek Cohen Offline
Retired Staff

Retired Staff Member
9,257
Posts:
Jul 2009
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #83
Your computer security?

(12-20-2011 09:37 PM)s2nds21 Wrote:  I think the virus make my hdd run slow, but the antivirus program use much ram. So i didn't use antivirus soft

You do not understand. A virus makes your computer run slow, not your hard drive. An antivirus program can use a lot of ram (depending on which one you choose) but a virus can use just as much or potentially even more ram or CPU resources.

So not using antivirus software is a very bad choice!
12-21-2011 08:29 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kleong Offline
Registered

Senior Member
345
Posts:
Nov 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #84
Your computer security?

I am using Avast and Spybot - Search and Destroy.
12-22-2011 02:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Hosttalk Offline
Registered

Member
107
Posts:
Dec 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #85
Your computer security?

My computer security is CMC Antivirus ^^
12-22-2011 01:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kitsune Offline
Registered

Member
138
Posts:
Jan 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #86
Your computer security?

Kaspersky Unactivated+Updatable
They're always Neutralize/Quarantine virus without failed

Recently someone was poison my office pc with Hack.exe with Trojon Heur Generic.
Which cause my windows menu disable lucky I've Kasperky Internet Secuity 2012.
My Windows left menu turn back to normal.
01-04-2012 08:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
kuro009 Offline
Registered

Member
204
Posts:
Jan 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #87
Your computer security?

I bought Kaspersky Pure 1 year ago. But due to some major fault and their weak customer support, I've dropped it. Since then, I'm using Norton.
01-31-2012 02:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mr.Phan Offline
Registered

Junior Member
37
Posts:
Mar 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #88
Your computer security?

(12-22-2011 01:13 PM)Hosttalk Wrote:  My computer security is CMC Antivirus ^^
Me too, Big Grin CMC Antivirus is our good software and I find it very very easy to use.It can protect your computer from a lot of dangersBlushBlush.
03-17-2012 03:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ben Cousins Offline
Administrators

Benevolent Dictator
1,650
Posts:
Sep 2012
Joined:
1
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 1 thank(s) in 1 post(s)
Post: #89
Your computer security?

(12-21-2011 08:29 PM)Geek Cohen Wrote:  
(12-20-2011 09:37 PM)s2nds21 Wrote:  I think the virus make my hdd run slow, but the antivirus program use much ram. So i didn't use antivirus soft

You do not understand. A virus makes your computer run slow, not your hard drive. An antivirus program can use a lot of ram (depending on which one you choose) but a virus can use just as much or potentially even more ram or CPU resources.

So not using antivirus software is a very bad choice!

That would depend on a number of things Cohen...
  • Is the HDD wearing out...
  • Has the user's hard drive been defraged lately?
  • Is the users HDD nearly full

Failing that, Then I'd rule it down to not enough RAM, OR a virus

I'm Ben; your bright, shiny, benevolent dictator.

My PM inbox is not for support tickets. Please create one in the correct forum.

Other projects include: Asperger's Network
03-20-2012 12:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
1nQuincy Offline
Registered

Member
59
Posts:
Mar 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #90
Your computer security?

I am using Microsoft Essentials. Using it almost a year and i didn't have any problems at all Smile
03-26-2012 12:10 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RedZombie Offline
Registered

Member
104
Posts:
Mar 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #91
Your computer security?

Hey,
I use Avast, I've been using it for years and not once have I ever had a virus, the database gets updated at least once a day if not more. The only annoying thing is it popping up every time and saying "Avast virus database has been updated!" But I'm sure there is a way to turn that off, I just haven't bothered to look.

But If you are looking for a free one I highly recommend it.
03-26-2012 01:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Geek Cohen Offline
Retired Staff

Retired Staff Member
9,257
Posts:
Jul 2009
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #92
Your computer security?

(03-26-2012 01:23 AM)RedZombie Wrote:  Hey,
I use Avast, I've been using it for years and not once have I ever had a virus, the database gets updated at least once a day if not more. The only annoying thing is it popping up every time and saying "Avast virus database has been updated!" But I'm sure there is a way to turn that off, I just haven't bothered to look.

But If you are looking for a free one I highly recommend it.

Turn silent gaming mode on and that annoying message sound stops..... I have don't it.
03-26-2012 06:13 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Ben Cousins Offline
Administrators

Benevolent Dictator
1,650
Posts:
Sep 2012
Joined:
1
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 1 thank(s) in 1 post(s)
Post: #93
Your computer security?

(03-26-2012 06:13 PM)Geek Cohen Wrote:  
(03-26-2012 01:23 AM)RedZombie Wrote:  Hey,
I use Avast, I've been using it for years and not once have I ever had a virus, the database gets updated at least once a day if not more. The only annoying thing is it popping up every time and saying "Avast virus database has been updated!" But I'm sure there is a way to turn that off, I just haven't bothered to look.

But If you are looking for a free one I highly recommend it.

Turn silent gaming mode on and that annoying message sound stops..... I have don't it.


You don't have it...you mean?

I haven't got antivirus. But I use ubuntu

I'm Ben; your bright, shiny, benevolent dictator.

My PM inbox is not for support tickets. Please create one in the correct forum.

Other projects include: Asperger's Network
03-27-2012 08:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
supergeek Offline
Registered

Member
64
Posts:
Mar 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #94
Your computer security?

Currently I'm using Avast, with Comodo it's probably over kill but you never know.. I also use adware scanners such as spybot, malware bytes but I disabled it for when it starts up.

From time to time, when I don't trust a program I install sandboxie to help some.
05-20-2012 04:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zukdeen Offline
Registered

Senior Member
286
Posts:
Feb 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #95
Your computer security?

I'm currently using ESET Smart Security, the last version. AV + Firewall = perfect solution.
05-26-2012 04:38 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JPower Offline
Pre-Members

Pre-Member
4
Posts:
May 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #96
Your computer security?

I'm using Microsoft Security Essentials, only because Avast would take a lot of memory from my pc.
05-26-2012 06:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ajeeshtalex Offline
Registered

Member
227
Posts:
Dec 2011
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #97
Your computer security?

I used AVG internet security for a long time... and it was working fine for me....
now I am trying eset nod 32 trial version, and will give the feedback soon Smile
05-26-2012 06:23 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tekkman Offline
Registered

Junior Member
18
Posts:
May 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #98
Your computer security?

AVG isn't really good for people who game. Avast! Free on the other hand is just great with handling pretty much anything.

I use Avast! Free and Malwarebytes (PRO).
06-26-2012 03:03 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Animespot Offline
Registered

Junior Member
17
Posts:
Aug 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #99
Your computer security?

Microsoft Security Essentials Heart . Its free and works really well in finding viruses.It scans with speed too!
08-01-2012 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
KKKingt2 Offline
Registered

Junior Member
22
Posts:
Aug 2012
Joined:
0
Reputation:
Thanks: 0
Given 0 thank(s) in 0 post(s)
Post: #100
Your computer security?

I don't have Windows, I have Ubuntu. Now Linux isn't totally prefect from malicious code but it is a whole of a lot more secure than Windowws can ever be without the need of anti-virus software.
08-01-2012 09:52 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)